SUBMITTED BY CAPTAIN MICHAEL CRESWELL
The Records Division is staffed by four clerks, under the supervision of a Captain and is responsible for the orderly keeping and efficient processing of all department incident reports, firearm permits and registrations, concealed weapons permits, fingerprints for identity purposes, background checks, sex offender registrations, accident reports, traffic citations and requests.
Once a report is received, the Records Division's function is to enter case information into the computer. This allows Sheriff's Office personnel future access to specific intformation in each case. It also allows incident and accident reports to be retrieved and made available upon request to the public through the Freedom Of Information Action (FOIA). The Freedom Of Information Act regulates and sets requirements for the disclosure of public records by all "public bodies" in the state. For additional information on the Freedom OF Information Act (FOIA) you may visit the State of Michigan Attorney Generals Office.
A request for any report or the registration of firearms may be done at the Records Office during the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday, except holidays. The telephone number is 517-263-0524, option #4.
REVISED JANUARY 20, 2012
Obtaining a copy of a Traffic Crash Report:
Traffic Crash Reports take approximately five business days to arrive in the Records Division, however, some may take longer to complete. Traffic Crash Reports needed for insurance purposes are available by request at the Records Division during regular business hours (see fee schedule above) or on-line at www.docview.us.com for an $11.00 charge.
Information on Concealed WEapons Permits (CCW):
Concealed Weapons Permits can be processed at the Records Division during regular business hours.
Fingerprints for CCW permits must be done at the Adrian Police Department, Tuesday and Thursday from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. only.
The Sheriff's Office provides fingerprinting services during regular business hours. There is no appointment necessary; this is a first come first serve basis, (see fee schedule above).
Please bring valid photo identification and any fingerprint cards if you were provided with them. The Sheriff's Office does provide Michigan State Police RI-8 cards for your use. You do not need to be a Michigan resident to be printed by the Sheriff's Office.
Sex Offender Verification:
Offenders can register at the Records Division during regular business hours, Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. It is the responsibility of the offender to abide by the following guidelines:
- Tier 1 - First 15 days of January for each year the offender is required to register.
- Tier 2 - First 15 days of January and July of each year the offender is required to register.
- Tier 3 - First 15 days of January, April, July and October during each year the offender is required to register.